mini-skirts and linkedin

Someone said “Statistics are like mini skirts. What they reveal is tantalizing, but what they hide is crucial”.

I was reminded of this when I was browsing Linkedin earlier today and saw the following two graphics. As far as I can tell the aim here is for LinkedIn user’s to convert from a basic account to a paid account.

I am not sure how many people see this and actually upgrade their accounts. Despite wanting to find out who is viewing my profile, I certainly have not upgraded. My reason for not upgrading is the cost is prohibitively high.

The Upgrade link seems to have tracking information in the link the page and hence we can only assume LinkedIn certainly has the stats for the conversion rate based on such UI design. I would guess that the conversion stats are favourable and hence this user interface is in place.

Did you upgrade your account upon seeing these statistics? I would love to hear from you if you did (or did not) and your reasons behind the decision.

Leave a Reply

